Past Awards

The following are the awards presented by the Transportation Engineering Division:

Chairman’s Award

The award is presented at the annual Chairman’s Award function held annual in Gauteng. The committee nominates individuals and the Chairman makes the final decision award.
The minimum criteria for consideration are:
The individual must be a civil engineering professional
Must be a member of SAICE
Significant contribution to the profession, more so in Transport Engineering

KwaZulu-Natal Certificate of Recognition

This award is similar to Chairman’s Award and the recipient/s are based in KZN.

Best Paper Award

The best paper award is presented at the annual Chairman’s Award Luncheon in Gauteng. Papers prepared for local and international events are considered. Hein Stander facilitates the collation and the adjudication.

Best Paper by a Young Professional

The award for the best paper by a young professional (under 35) is presented annually at the SATC Cocktail function. The Paper comes from the SATC submissions. The SATC Committee compiles the papers for Hein Stander a few months prior to SATC. Adjudication is done by Hein Stander.

Best Dissertation

This is a new award, endorsed at the committee meeting held on 9 July 2014. This award is for the best dissertation at Masters level in Transport Engineering. The division intends presenting the award at the regional luncheons held in KwaZulu-Natal and Cape Town annually.