SAICE Transport Division Chairman’s Award Luncheon

30 May 2019

The SAICE Transport Division held the Chairman’s Awards luncheon at the Protea Hotel Marriott in Midrand on 30 May 2019. The SAICE Transport Division Chairman’s Award is the highest honour conferred on a professional by the Division. It is intended to acknowledge an individual’s investment in their craft and contributions to industry and society at large. Each year, the SAICE Transport Division Committee deliberates on potential candidates with the context of a broad range of criteria.

For 2019, the successful candidate was Alex van Niekerk. Alex, was presented with the Award by the Division Chairman, Jarendra Reddy at the event that was well attended by industry professionals. Alex is the Manager: Planning, Transport and Toll Division at SANRAL.

The event included a presentation by SAICE President 2019 – Brian Downie on the Travel in the South, a history of South African Roads that he co-authored with Dr Malcolm Mitchell.